Official Cap Discussion

Yeah, down =(

Spoiler Removed

Type your comment> @koushik777 said:

im new to hacking , i though of trying this box , cant do … but when u guys said this the the easiest box in htb … i feel like im not fit for hacking… :disappointed:

I was you a couple of months ago…really I was…I really recommend you to go through the hackthebox academy. It teaches you form zero to hero lol.

Type your comment> @kavigihan said:

Rooted!! Actually, this is too easy to be a hackthebox machine tho. Anyways…

User:
Remember 1 is not the first number you have.
Lazy people use only one password.

Root:
what are SUIDs??
Python is a lifesaver

This is everything you need to know to root this box… Hope thse might help you…DM me for any help… Thanks @InfoSecJack

hey do you get any issue with s*t**p command? or is there any other way

Just rooted thanks to kavigihan’s hint on user. I realised how dumb i was :frowning:
For the root part: It highly depends on your “ability”

Edit: Feel free to pm me!

This is an easy box for beginners. After it gets retired, would suggest to shift to starting point.

Why do people complain when easy machines are easy? I don’t get it.
Anyway, rooted, feel free to DM me.

1 Like

Yay! Rooted! Got stuck at user at first! But the privesc was more straightforward! Lots of rabbit holes here, tho…so if you struggling, don’t forget thats an easy machine. Nothing really complicated. Like literally super basic stuff in the end. When you see it you immediately know it.

@koushik777 said:

im new to hacking , i though of trying this box , cant do … but when u guys said this the the easiest box in htb … i feel like im not fit for hacking… :disappointed:

@akhileshadz said:

im also feeling like that

Dont let it get to you. Boxes are easy when you know how to exploit them. All the people saying “this is easy” really mean is that they found it easy.

If you are new, no box is easy. If you know how what a box involves, no box is easy.