Official Knife Discussion

Finally! If anyone needs a nudge, send me a message :slight_smile:

Type your comment> @azzafazza said:

I am a complete noob to this so I found root very hard (basically i’ve done maybe 3 boxes before this one, I have no idea what I am doing). I now have a bit of a process I will go through when I first get on a box, because I assume root was very easy for anyone with half a brain cell (unlike me).

Don’t beat yourself over it lol, it all comes with experience. This was actually a pretty good machine for beginners cause it covers the basics for Linux privilege escalation, but it’s only easy if you’ve done something similar to it before.

Managed to get user after modifying my google search per some suggestions. Funny how it was staring me in the face and needed some prodding. Root on the other hand is escaping me atm. I’m pretty new to this and know the command I need to run but after reading of the docs for it I am having trouble getting root. If anyone can DM me a nudge it would be greatly appreciated. I know it also staring me in the face but I don’t see it.

Any help for Foothold? Been trying for a couple of hours to no avail.

Thank you for the box MrKN16H.
Foothold/User: I hate to repeat what everyone else has said here but it really is as simple as identifying the abnormal version of something and doing a bunch of research. Once you find the door some nice people made it really easy for you. And yes I believe them to be Chinese.
Root: Read the large help file. Once you see the command you can use, make sure you keep in mind the language it is written in.
PM me fore nudges if you’d like.

Spoiler Removed

Finally rooting I was blocked for the foothold because my google skill is lousy.
Root is very easy
PM for help

Type your comment> @Err0rBladE said:

Spoiler Removed

Spot on.
![Foalma321] (https://www.hackthebox.eu/badge/image/74636)

Easy but nice box:) Here are some hints :smile: