A Total Noob

So I just started learning Linux and Kali Linux. But the thing is I’m so lost. I don’t know where to start or what to learn. I’m struggling with understanding the terminal. I believe understanding the codes and terminals is the only best way to learn.

I’m a 17-year-old teenager so eager about programming, network security, hacking. But I don’t know if I need any knowledge about IT or anything else before I start. I’m not even sure if I’m gonna study IT in the future.

I’ll appreciate it if someone could push me in the right direction.

@PandaGaminG said:

So I just started learning Linux and Kali Linux. But the thing is I’m so lost. I don’t know where to start or what to learn. I’m struggling with understanding the terminal. I believe understanding the codes and terminals is the only best way to learn.

I’m a 17-year-old teenager so eager about programming, network security, hacking. But I don’t know if I need any knowledge about IT or anything else before I start. I’m not even sure if I’m gonna study IT in the future.

This is a difficult thing to help with - it really does depend on how interested you are in this type of thing and what you already know.

Some basics.

• You do need to learn about IT (and, especially networking) before you can become good at security. You may not need it initially, but if you don’t understand basic concepts then it will make your life difficult quickly.
  • HTB boxes themselves are not an ideal place for complete beginners. The HTB concept is basically the “Black Box” pentest approach. You are only given an IP address and you have work everything else out yourself. If you know about the phases (enumeration, exploitation etc), then you have an idea where to start. If you don’t, this is an impossible task.