Can't ping, load any machine on firefox

Hi, i’m new to htb, so i decided to start with a simple machine, like Delivery, Doctor, and the easy machines.
I tried to ping the machine, with ping 10.10.10.x, and i send the packets, but i don’t receive anything.
Also if i try to connect the the machines, like “Doctor” with firefox, it continue to load the page for the infinity, until i close it.
P.S: yes, i set up the correct vpn, and it runs correctly
Pls someone help me, i really want to use htb.

@0fox said:

Hi, i’m new to htb, so i decided to start with a simple machine, like Delivery, Doctor, and the easy machines.
I tried to ping the machine, with ping 10.10.10.x, and i send the packets, but i don’t receive anything.
Also if i try to connect the the machines, like “Doctor” with firefox, it continue to load the page for the infinity, until i close it.
P.S: yes, i set up the correct vpn, and it runs correctly
Pls someone help me, i really want to use htb.

This is an often asked question, so you might have read some of the other responses.

If you have a VIP connection, you need to spawn the machine to your account so you can access it.

Ping is not very good for troubleshooting this problem. tracert/traceroute is much more effective.

The output of these tools will give an idea of what the problem might be. Without knowing more, there isn’t really a way people can guess what the problem is.

Remember if you are trying to open a hostname in a browser, you need to have added it to your hosts file because there isn’t a DNS service on HTB.

Yes, ur right, i’m sorry.
But now when i try to ping a machine, i got packets back, but when i try to browse it i got this error “Firefox can’t establish a connection to the server at 10.10.10.x”
so if u said i need to add the host to my host file, how can i do it?

@0fox said:

Yes, ur right, i’m sorry.