[Reversing] Exatlon

Type your comment> @k4wld said:

This box is insane.

I agree

really cool challenge
eline sağlık OctopusTR :slight_smile:

Could use a nudge as well. Spent hours in ghidra finding tons of strings, none that make much sense. Found nothing in the functions either.

This box was nice :smile:

pm for a nudge

If I were to try this in GDB, how would I get around the fact that no file table is loaded.

Kinda a noob here, just started learning reversing.

Edit: Just figured it out using Ghidra to grab the addresses

Type your comment> @m0tic said:

Type your comment> @rshackleford85 said:

yeah i found what i believe is a possible password but it’s a long string and the program won’t accept it as a password. i’ve also checked for bitwise operations to see if it and’s or xor’s the string but i just confused myself even more. any nudges would be appreciated. thx

You are in the right direction. I would suggest to enter any character as the user input (for instance a ‘Z’) and see how the program transforms such value and compares it with the string that you have found. Try the same with a ‘Y’, and so on until you find the pattern.

@Sparre this hint is just golden imo. hope it helps

Coming from C where the function calls are really nice and clean to whatever this is:

<std::basic_ostream<char, std::char_traits<char> >& std::operator<< <std::char_traits<char> >(std::basic_ostream<char, std::char_traits<char> 
>&, char const*)>

is a little rough. Could someone explain to me how to read the C++ function calls?

Edit: I determined it wasn’t necessary. Had a lot of fun with this box, DM if you need a hint

C++ literally has inbuilt obfuscation, such a pain to use gdb

Key here is not to over think it :smiley:

Hello,
can somebody help me solving this challenge? I have a long term of numbers with three or four symbols, but no combinations seems to work as password. I have read this term must be decrypted, can someone give me a hint?