Open VPN file not working

(info: OS- Parrot 5.7.10 , VirtualBox)

I put: “sudo openvpn shieldmaiden.ovpn”

it said: Error opening configuration file: Shieldmaiden.ovpn

I’ve tried re-downloading, resetting, i’m using sudo for root so that’s not the issue and my IPv6 is enabled.

(I apologise if the answer is so obvious you cringe, I’m just a noob atm lol)

Type your comment> @Shieldmaiden said:

I’ve tried re-downloading, resetting, i’m using sudo for root so that’s not the issue and my IPv6 is enabled.

Never apologies for asking a question :slight_smile:

I may not help you but all I can think of is:
have you tried the complete path to your shieldmaiden.ovpn? sudo openvpn /path/path/shieldmaiden.ovpn
or
maybe your rights (even as root) is not set on the file? chmod +x shieldmaiden.ovpn

@Shieldmaiden said:

Double check your spelling.

In linux there is a world of difference between Shieldmaiden.ovpn and sheildmaiden.ovpn

The error message talks about a different file than the one mentioned in the error message.

Like @acidbat says, never feel you need to apologise for asking questions. We are all here to learn and no one knows everything.

1 Like

Type your comment> @acidbat said:

Never apologies for asking a question :slight_smile:

I may not help you but all I can think of is:
have you tried the complete path to your shieldmaiden.ovpn? sudo openvpn /path/path/shieldmaiden.ovpn
or
maybe your rights (even as root) is not set on the file? chmod +x shieldmaiden.ovpn

still no luck.
Its saying the following; “Options error: In [CMD-LINE] : 1 : Error opening configuration file:”

still no luck.
Its saying the following; “Options error: In [CMD-LINE] : 1 : Error opening configuration file:”

As @Tazwake mentioned; with linux there is a difference between Shieldmaiden.ovpn and shieldmaiden.ovpn as in everything is case-sensitive when it comes to linux.

I get the same error if I type: sudo openvpn HTB.ovpn because HTB.ovpn file does not exist on my system.