Official xorxorxor Discussion

N!ce easy Challenge and it’s done.

Hint:
Read the code, and find a way to decrypt the flag. cyberchef will not help you this time, but python yes .

I need help, can someone PM me?

I’m hitting a big wall with this one. Would anyone mind PMing me a hint? thank you

Pay close attention to what the source code says it does. Then you can use this encode a known-plaintext which gives you a crib you can use to decode the rest of the string.

Very easy challenge. For people who might have trouble I would recommend going to cryptohack.org and doing the You either know, XOR you don't challenge it has good hints for this

1 Like

can someone give me a hint?

Hey Guys, any chance of a hint, I understand what the code is doing but I am at a loss at to what to do

I solved this challenge completely manual - actually I’ve done most of it with pen and paper. I am not sure if this is an intended way to solve it, but I’m not that good with python yet, so this was the easiest way for me to go. I would really appreciate it if someone could PM me, so I can analyze their way of solving this challenge by programming (or to send them my poor code-ideas and have a chat about what I’ve done wrong) :slight_smile:

@Kati if you want you can PM me.

A hint, the XOR has the following properties

A ⊕ A = 0 and is an associative function so
A ⊕ (B ⊕ C) = (A ⊕ B) ⊕ C

There is some stuff you should already know from previous challenges too that might help

1 Like

Hi! I have a script worked out and it tells me it finds the key. But its the wrong key(i think). Can I dm anyone for some tips on what is wrong?

Solved manually.

As @Fukurou pointed: XOR is used for symmetric encryption where the same key is used to both encrypt and decrypt a message…

You already know how the flag looks like :expressionless:

Had to solve this manually with a script, but it was a good challenge. Feel free to DM for nudges.