Directory scanning/busting more effectively

Hey folks,

Newbie here. Had a quick question about directory scans/busting. I often find myself getting stuck on machines because my directory scans aren’t picking up the directories essential to a foothold. I try and use multiple tools including dirsearch, gubuster, dirbuster, nikto, etc but I still find myself not getting all the essential directories.

Any tips to make scanning directories more effective? Thanks!

The lists you use are often more important. The tools don’t generally matter that much, although it is wise to try alternates if one doesn’t work.

Sometimes you can get results with big lists like the rockyou lists, other times you might need a more specific list. As an example, If you think the box has as its objective a web shell you are supposed to find, using a word list specifically for that might yield quicker/better results.

I tend to also build a word list from the target pages, where practical.

As an additional note, when your fuzzing doesn’t find a directory that you later learn about, it can be prudent to check if the directory exists in the list you used. If it does in fact exist, then your tool isn’t configured properly (hostname, etc.).

1 Like

On that note, I suggest downloading SecLists (GitHub - danielmiessler/SecLists: SecLists is the security tester's companion. It's a collection of multiple types of lists used during security assessments, collected in one place. List types include usernames, passwords, URLs, sensitive data patterns, fuzzing payloads, web shells, and many more.). It has a large collection of general and service-specific wordlists for enumerating directories among other useful things.

1 Like

Type your comment> @erv1 said: