HTB Starting Point - Impacket : unpack requires a buffer of 1 bytes

Hello guys, I’m new in htb and infosec,
I started with the initial VM ( starting point) and I got an error when trying to connect to mssql, after entering passwd it shows:

"[-] (‘unpack requires a buffer of 1 bytes’, “When unpacking field ‘Type | <B | b’‘[:1]’”)

which I don’t understand what it means.

I tried the option of :

mssqlclient.py ARCHETYPE/sql_svc@10.10.10.27 -windows-auth
with password: M3g4c0rp123

Some helpfull info ( I hope):

1. I installed the package from the blackarch repo with "sudo pacman -S impacket " (0.9.21-1)
    , I also tried with the package from github (0.9.22) and got the same response …

2. Other thing that I noticed is when running the Nmap scanning the port of mysql seemed tcpwrapped, so I don’t know iof this can be part of the issue.

3. Also tried running the command with -debug

And found this (but dunno how to interpret it)

File “/home/user/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/impacket/structure.py”, line 282, in unpack return unpack (format,data)[0]

Thanks for the help :smile: and for your time .

Hey there,

I’m in your exact same position - just getting into HTB myself. I experienced the exact same issue you did and attempted the same solutions.
I delved into “structure.py” and the exception is raised because structure.py is passed an empty byte (b’') from tds.py. I tried patching line 83 in structure.py to:

if data is not None and len(data) > 0

just in case it was an oversight (unlikely) but it didn’t help - it resulted in a different error:

$ python3 ./mssqlclient.py ARCHETYPE/sql_svc@10.10.10.27 -windows-auth -debug 
Impacket v0.9.22 - Copyright 2020 SecureAuth Corporation

[+] Impacket Library Installation Path: /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/impacket
Password:  [M3g4c0rp123]                                                                                                
[+] Exception: