Official Academy Discussion

Rooted

I thank everyone who gave me tips, but especially to @Harbard thanks for your patience, without you it would not be possible.

I’m a beginner and it was a little complicated, I learned a lot.

Really stuck on user 2, trawling through the logs at the mo with grep and zgrep but really need direction on best things to look for, any help would be most appreciated. Enjoying box so far…

@foalma321 said:

Really stuck on user 2, trawling through the logs at the mo with grep and zgrep but really need direction on best things to look for, any help would be most appreciated. Enjoying box so far…

If you ran a tool like nikto against the site, or did a good job with dirb/dirbuster/gobuster/whatever then you should have seen some files that look interesting but you couldn’t access them.

You can look at them in the filesystem.

If you get any credentials always check for password reuse.

Type your comment> @petrostheol said:

Can someone give me a nudge? I’m enumerating for like 2 hours but still nothing.

Try a few days back to back looking at all the pages and sadly for me, I still don’t get it…this has made me feel stupid af.

@grav3m1ndbyte said:

Can someone give me a nudge? I’m enumerating for like 2 hours but still nothing.

Try a few days back to back looking at all the pages and sadly for me, I still don’t get it…this has made me feel stupid af.

It depends what you have done so far, but at a high level make sure you’ve found a page which implies it has privileged access, then see if you can manipulate the way you create new things to get access.

Type your comment> @TazWake said:

@grav3m1ndbyte said:

It depends what you have done so far, but at a high level make sure you’ve found a page which implies it has privileged access, then see if you can manipulate the way you create new things to get access.

I get it now…I completely overlooked something the other day while being feverish! smh