Official Passage Discussion

cant figure out the right binary for root!
a little help guyz

just rooted this box, but the way I rooted it was more of guess work, does anyone care to PM me about how you got to know about this exploit. And someone in the discussion said that there are more then one way to get to root, anyone wants to discuss about it?

hey everyone ! I’ve been stuck on root for a long time and clues here don’t really help me… Tried a bunch of stuff, enumerated a lot but I’m clearly missing something (but I’m a beginner)…

@Slowtech said:

hey everyone ! I’ve been stuck on root for a long time and clues here don’t really help me… Tried a bunch of stuff, enumerated a lot but I’m clearly missing something (but I’m a beginner)…

When you enumerate, look at all the files you can find which would normally come up on a enum search. Check them out and see if any can be exploited. There is a good blog post on how to use it.

Rooted,
Fun box :slight_smile: - awesome work @ChefByzen
Thank you @TazWake for the initial nudge :slight_smile:

Rooted !
Thanks @TazWake and @ChefByzen for the nudge, I totally missed the file, thinking it was not supposed to be here…
Really fun box, learned a lot on this one

Wonderful machine! Thanks @ChefByzen. Root was fantastic - I’m happy that I could study (and exploit) that vulnerability.

Very Interesting and fun box … First box on HTB that I did in one day :smiley:

Initial Foothold :

• Look through the website properly you will find clues
    User 1:
  • Result of initial foothold is sufficient enough to get you this user
    User 2:
  • Dig through all the files and you will find interesting stuff
    User 3:
  • Its just a call away…Keep your brain’s window wide open
    Root:
  • So far the only trickiest thing in the whole box … follow previous hints “Stay Home” the passage to other world goes underground.

DM me for nudges . Lovely box