Official Buff Discussion

Type your comment> @NetSecMeh said:

Can I get a nudge on root? I’ve got a reverse powershell and nabbed the user just fine. I’m now attempting to get root but I’ve been going for 6hrs and hitting a wall. I’ve got plink on the box and a reverse tunnel setup fine… is my next step to run some python scripts for buff-over-flow against the cloud product? I’ve ran both but don’t get any output so I think I’m doing something wrong. I feel like I’m so close… maybe :neutral:

You are close. I put print("worked so far 1") and incremented it within the python script to see where it fails, might help you.

Total newb question: I cannot find p**** on the victim box to initiate the p*** f*****. Is it something I have to keep digging to find the proper directory or should I find a way to upload it from Kali?

@squirrelpizza said:

Total newb question: I cannot find p**** on the victim box to initiate the p*** f*****. Is it something I have to keep digging to find the proper directory or should I find a way to upload it from Kali?

You can upload it.

Finally rooted. Want to give some help for those who are stuck. Feel free to message me, I won’t give spoilers.

User: Start small with simple enumeration, it’s an easy box so nothing fancy, look for information given to you. How can that info be exploited?

Root: Now you can move around the box, move any tools you need to use onto the box. Get yourself a better shell. Do some priv esc enumeration. Check common places on the machine for interesting things. Do some more enumerating. Once things are set up correctly, find how to exploit.

derhund88 saved me with what he said above. Make sure the tool you use is 64x!!! I used *****.exe that came with my vm from /windows-binaries and I was stuck on the box for a couple days just because of it. Download the latest 64x version and use that.

Feel free to respect if I’m able to help!