Nmap scan time

Hello, I am new to hackthebox. I was just checking out their beginners guide which you get at your first login. I followed it’s instructions, connect to htb network, ran the nmap port scan as written in the guide ( nmap -sC -sV -p$ports 10.10.10.27 ). But, it’s been almost 5 minutes and it’s just stuck there. No result or output. Can anyone help me?

I’d suggest running nmap always with -vvv so that you get as much output on the way as possible. Other than that, you can also press SPACE to get a status update.

@cronta44 said:

Hello, I am new to hackthebox. I was just checking out their beginners guide which you get at your first login. I followed it’s instructions, connect to htb network, ran the nmap port scan as written in the guide ( nmap -sC -sV -p$ports 10.10.10.27 ). But, it’s been almost 5 minutes and it’s just stuck there. No result or output. Can anyone help me?

Did you run ports=$(nmap -p- --min-rate=1000 -T4 10.10.10.27 | grep ^[0-9] | cut -d '/' -f 1 | tr '\n' ',' | sed s/,$//) first?

I am not a huge fan of this approach to using nmap, I get that it feels like it has sped up the process but it generates an awful lot of errors.

You might be better using:

nmap -Pn -sC -sV -p- -vvvvvvv --reason --min-rate=1000 -T4 -oA all_tcp 10.10.10.27

(ymmv)

Type your comment> @cronta44 said:

I agree with @Homesen that the verbose can help. I just personally think that out-of-the-box it clutters the screen so much it becomes hard to read and limits what other information you could gather in the mean while.
And I like the direction of what @TazWake is suggesting.

These are the first two stages of my nmap scan. I have 5 stages in total, but just to give a hint:

–code start

ip=10.10.10.27; sudo nmap --top-ports 100 -oA scantop100 $ip && sudo nmap -sC -sV -p grep -oP "^[0-9]*" scantop100.nmap | tr "\n" "," | sed 's/.$//' -oA scantop100 $ip;

–code end