Error #487: Your port specifications are illegal.

Hi. I am new to this and have followed the newbies instruction implicitly. However, when I use this command:
nmap -sC -sV -p 10.10.10.27, i get the following:

tarting Nmap 7.80 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2020-07-08 17:20 AEST
Error #487: Your port specifications are illegal. Example of proper form: “-100,200-1024,T:3000-4000,U:60000-”

What am I doing wrong???

if you want to scan all the ports, use -p-
Or if you want to scan a range e.g 1-2000, use -p1-2000
https://nmap.org/book/port-scanning-options.html

1 Like

@fartbar said:

Hi. I am new to this and have followed the newbies instruction implicitly. However, when I use this command:
nmap -sC -sV -p 10.10.10.27, i get the following:

tarting Nmap 7.80 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2020-07-08 17:20 AEST
Error #487: Your port specifications are illegal. Example of proper form: “-100,200-1024,T:3000-4000,U:60000-”

What am I doing wrong???

As @yupm has said, the port specification needs to be there.

Another common issue is if people use the script mentioned in the starting points where you run a scan to find open ports then run a detailed scan, this is pretty buggy.

Its a lot better to just do a single scan - then you can troubleshoot it if it still fails.

@TazWake said:

Another common issue is if people use the script mentioned in the starting points where you run a scan to find open ports then run a detailed scan, this is pretty buggy.

Its a lot better to just do a single scan - then you can troubleshoot it if it still fails.