Enumeration of File Permissions/User ID's

Hello,

I am relatively new to pen-testing and am trying to get a good handle on all the enumeration basics and lately I’ve been looking at file permissions. I under what all the parts of .rwxrwxrwx root root mean but I’m not really sure when this information ever becomes useful?

1. Can I use the fact a file has SUID SGID bit set?
  2. Is it significant when a file has a symbolic link?
  3. If I have just got onto a shell as, for example, user bob, do i treat files that are owned by bob any differently to files not owned by bob?

Any other tips/thoughts in this area welcome :slight_smile:

Also as a slightly off topic question is it possible to change my UID? For example I login as Bob UID 997 and I need to be Steve UID UID 998 is there a way to change between the two as a way of moving laterally?

thanks for reading!

@BugsBunny said:

I under what all the parts of .rwxrwxrwx root root mean but I’m not really sure when this information ever becomes useful?

Part of the problem answering this is that the real answer is “it depends”, which isn’t very helpful.

The information becomes useful when it is useful for an attack. A lot of the time it is just noise, so experience is really the best teacher here.

It is not possible to say “all files with the sticky bit set are useful for exploitation.” At best we can say “it is worth checking for files with the sticky bit set to see if anything unusual appears and then maybe that can be exploited.”

1. Can I use the fact a file has SUID SGID bit set?

Yes. But the value to you depends on what the file is/does. If you don’t know what is normal for the OS, then it is hard to make this useable.

For example, you will often find /usr/bin/passwd has the sticky bit set, but this is normally not something you can exploit (if you do, its worth reporting it and getting it fixed).