Admirer

Type your comment> @Enyone said:

could be easily one of my favorite boxes… found it to be very straightforward and very much to learn. thank you so much :smiley:

@grai123 said:
Running into a similar error that most people are running into. Spent several hours trying to troubleshoot (firewall fixed, ensure service is running, bind-address is correct, user and privileges are good, fixed packet size and timeout in config file), and I feel that I’m out of options. I’m not an expert on sql, but I’m not a newb either, so I have no idea why it isn’t connecting properly.

Would appreciate some help. Thanks!

have you made sure the user is the “correct” user? i learned that “user”@“localhost” is not equal to “user”@“whatever.com”. that solved that problem for me

Yes I did that

@Shad0wQu35t said:
Type your comment> @grai123 said:

Running into a similar error that most people are running into. Spent several hours trying to troubleshoot (firewall fixed, ensure service is running, bind-address is correct, user and privileges are good, fixed packet size and timeout in config file), and I feel that I’m out of options. I’m not an expert on sql, but I’m not a newb either, so I have no idea why it isn’t connecting properly.

Would appreciate some help. Thanks!

Host 'xxx.xx.xxx.xxx' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server - Stack Overflow

Try this bro :wink:

Tried something similar. I tried it again and added another user. I got connection refused afterwards. Double checked firewall and restarted service. Now I’m getting connection timed out error.

I’m not trying to become a db admin, but it seems like I need to in order to get the dbms to connect to my db.

Anyone able to walk the dog with me on the db configuration and let me know what exactly I’m doing wrong?

@grai123 said:
I’m not trying to become a db admin, but it seems like I need to in order to get the dbms to connect to my db.