Cybersecurity for dental office

Hi, HTB newbie here. I work reception/management at a small dental office that has been hacked and had data encrypted once before. I joined HTB a few months ago mainly to gain some experience in penetration testing so that i can hopefully help to prevent further attacks in the future. The office doesn’t host a web server (which seems to be the main attack point for most HTB boxes), so what other services might be common attack vectors for a dental office? I know we used to have a windows remote web client & teamviewer but these have since been stopped. Also, if we really need to have a remote desktop connection available, what is the best way to secure it ? Thanks in advance

If you need to expose RDP to a third party, you should make it available only via VPN, not directly from the internet. Depending on the router/firewall appliance/VPN service, you might be able to secure it via 2FA/MFA.
Another option would be to use TeamViewer QS on your side. That way, your IT service partner (or medical device manufacturer) can only “dial in”, after they called (or you called them), you actively started the QuickSupport module, and told them the current session id and password.
Other than that, never underestimate “client-side attacks”. A phishing mail is easily crafted, and people “love” to open arbitrary attachments. To reduce the attack surface, here, disable Macros inside your office suite (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc.). Also, change the default application for .js and .vbs files to Notepad.

Backup your data to true offline locations. I’m still a huge fan of tape-based backups: one tape per day, and 5 “rolling” tapes for fridays. That way, you can restore data for up to one month, and ransomware wont encrypt it (as compared to some network storage that is available 24/7 for each and every system inside the network).

@rama3124 said: