Official Blunder Discussion

@wittr said:

Please don’t change the password to the foothold portal…

Stuck on root… got the user flag. I know people say “Basic Enum and google” but anyone got pointers on the “Basic enum” part(noob here)? I did some Googling off versions etc. of things I’m finding but I’m not seeing a lot. I saw @TazWake mention a CVE released late last year but having trouble coming up with anything …

When you find it, you will understand why it is nearly impossible to say anything here which wont be a spoiler.

Concentrate on finding out what rights/privileges your user account has.

Type your comment> @TazWake said:

When you find it, you will understand why it is nearly impossible to say anything here which wont be a spoiler.

Concentrate on finding out what rights/privileges your user account has.

Got it! Rooted.

I was going down that path but got an error when attempting enum, didn’t happen to google the error at the time (doh). On the plus side I learned how to upgrade a shell to fully tty during this process…
Thanks @TazWake @LewEl for nudges.

@wittr said:

On the plus side I learned how to upgrade a shell to fully tty during this process…
Nice work! All learning is good and that is a genuinely useful step in most boxes here.

Rooted…
My first box that did not have step by step instructions. Lots of learning and a couple of hints. Great experience. Thanks

I have a problem, I have the u****.*** file but this has information about F***** and a****. The password for a**** is not easily crackable and there is not clue about H***, I’m starting to think if there is maybe something wrong with the box or… I don’t know what’s going on. Can someone help me please?
Thanks!!

Finally after many rabbitholes(well learned alot).

Initial was enjoyable but the most challenging. use what is in front of you search around for the stuff you find.