Where to start?

Greetings all, I hope this finds you well.

*Disclaimer - this doesnt contain spoilers, as what im referring to is a starting point lab that the tutorial explains.
Also, if this is in the wrong spot i apologize. I will try to post to forums better going forward.

I am new to this site and cybersecurity, and I just have a a question - how do you know where to start, when starting in “starting point”?

For example, on machine “oopsie”, port 80 and 22 are open, and I would have started looking into ssh instead of 80 and going the way of the tutorial.

does this just come with time and experience, or is it obvious to go the route of the tutorial? I appreciate and welcome all feedback, including constructive criticism.

thank you

Hello! Welcome to the forums :slight_smile: I will caveat everything that I say by the fact that I am a newbie myself and at the time of writing haven’t even finished rooting all the Starting Point boxes.

First of all, well done for thinking about alternative routes. I have watched a bunch of Youtube videos and hacking streams, of IppSec and others and going to port 80 if it’s open seems to be the ‘classic’ route, as:
a) A web page (80) is openly accessible. An ssh port (22) is very very rarely openly accessible and at the very least you would need a username to access it, which you do not know at the beginning.
b) Opening a web page can give us a lot of information. We can potentially get what engine is the website running on, the operating system of the server and lots more.

From my observations, it seems to be following the path of least resistance first - if there is something openly accessible somewhere, such as a web page, it’s worth checking that first, and then if that did not work - trying other vectors. So, to answer your question - it does come from the experience :slight_smile:

I would love to read the perspectives of the more experienced members, it would be very interesting to get different insights!