Obscurity

Finally rooted after three days. ■■■■■■■■, that RCE was brutal. But hey, at least I discovered VSCode has very nice debugger with Python support :wink:
This machine taught me that no amount of obscure code could hide vulnerabilities. I did not understand fully any of the scripts, but pieces were enough to own it bit by bit. I’m mostly happy that I learned some Python and it’s actually possible to use it with good result even for complete noob like me.

Rooted

Feel free to pm for some tips!

Hi guys. I found the python script but I can’t get reverse shell. I tried with burp decoder but nothing. Can someone suggest me a guide to “build” the payload or something similar?

Rooted!
root@obscure:~# id
uid=0(root) gid=0(root) groups=0(root)

Thanks to EvilT0r13 for nudges.
Few Hints for those who are stuck… Feel free to mark spoiler if it is!
Foothold : You know the file, but don’t know the parent dir… FUZZ accordingly.
User : No need of any custom scripts. Use common sense with encryption<->key<->decryption. You have everything you need.
Root: There are 2 ways to get root. Understand the script. Look what it does and where it does and how can you catch it! Once you catch it, you know what to do with it.

Nice box, but totally CTF like. Thanks to clubby789.

Feel free to PM if need assistance.

huhuhu it takes me 2 weeks to freaking root this box… :frowning:
okay here’s some hint!
foothold: just enumerate what you see!!
note: look through it and google everything! if you are just a noob like me!
user: enumerate and follow the order of the program that you find!
note: dont forget to add “$()” and then cat it!
root: look at the code!
note: seriously look at the code and google everything that you see!!

Rooted!, great box loved the custom stuff!!

The initial foothold was satisfying to get by testing everything and developing a working exploit!
A tip for user would be using “secret” to give the important argument.