[Reversing] Find The Easy Pass - Newb needs help

Hey guys,

This is my first attempt to reverse engineer anything. Making some progress, but am stuck. I’m using IDA and found the “Congratulations” string, and started working up from there. It looks like it calls some functions and does a lot of math, and (if I’m understanding this right) if it does not equal zero it will give the “Congratulations” message.

I’m lost and not really sure what I’m looking at, any helpful hints (no spoilers) would be greatly appreciated.

This is my first attempt to reverse engineer anything. Making some progress, but am stuck. I’m using IDA and found the “Congratulations” string, and started working up from there. It looks like it calls some functions and does a lot of math, and (if I’m understanding this right) if it does not equal zero it will give the “Congratulations” message.

Disassemble that “Congratulations” message.

Hi sir i need little bit help … i found the Congrat string …in IDA and in OllyGDB but i dont find the password …i need a hint not spoiler :frowning: …i am new in use IDA and OllyGDB…I found the JNZ address i change into JMP but dosen’t work … i succed to make bypass password with nops but i need a password not Bypass :frowning:

Bottom right corner box of ollydbg. Check for the lines “Congratulations”.

Easy to debug if you found the line.

i try to compare but i dont see nothing …were i wrong ?

ok so I have dissasembled the program and its showing a password but it does not work, @cyb3rs4k1

I solved ,ty all

I sent you a message. But glad you found out soon. Good going.

thx

It helps to unpack the .exe first, it’ll help you decide what tool to use. The password that displayed within Olly was missing a letter… weird!

@SSJrolo said:
It helps to unpack the .exe first, it’ll help you decide what tool to use. The password that displayed within Olly was missing a letter… weird!

You are totally correct. A letter in the middle of the character array/string for me.