Baby

Man, this is one of the easiest challenges I ever had in HTB. No tools needed, just use the computer alternative of the writing pad :wink:

Hi, I’m new in Linux and I don’t know many of features and tools that it offers. Can you give me a hint how to solve this challenge please?

I would take the time to understand RE a bit and play with the tools available before diving in too hard.
@macomatom
You can feel free to find me on Discord as heuvosenfuego#1515 and I’ll walk you through.

Anyone else having a problem opening the download? I cant unzip it. Gives error
Please check the store archive

Type your comment> @Freak2600 said:

I’ve Just checked the archive. Everything is fine

I never did reversing but have some experience programming in C so it took me a bit long, about 10-15 minutes to solve this challenge.

I opened the file with v** and found a key and the flag as well but because of encoding it wasn’t usable.

Chef told me what file type it was, used the key and challenge solved.

Tried h** **p as well with Chef but the flag wasn’t usable that way. Did some research on Big Brother and learned how to use r which I’ll be using in the next challenges as well.

Type your comment> @Freak2600 said:

I have an error too :
skipping: baby unsupported compression method 99

Is it part of the challenge ? Because on windows I found the key and what seems to be the flag. But on linux there is this problem.
anyone ?

@IvanGlinkin said:
(Quote)
Totally agreed. And remember, it’s just a file that can be read, wrote and …

… used to file the bars of your cell and escape in search of the legendary Monkey Island?

Thanks for hint @IvanGlinkin and the others :slight_smile:

Spoiler Removed

it was my first revers engineering task and it was fun!

Type your comment> @Ganishka said:

It took me longer to unzip the file than solve the challenge. If you are having trouble unzipping this on a linux box, try using 7zip to unpack it.

bigup