Nest

my brain is hurting a lot XD

Rooted, fun box. A bit hard for me, considering that it is listed as easy.
Thanks @VbScrub

Anyone open to PM to point me in the right direction? I will share everything I have gathered so far. Thanks

removed

Wow, what a challenge @VbScrub. Thank you for this box! :smiley:

Finally root’ed as well and for me far from “easy” as mentioned before.

Mainly as I have limited windows filesystem knowledge and would never have found the key to the 0 byte file without the hints here in the forum. Bit everything is in the pages here before. I didn’t had to ask somebody by PM and I see this as a personal progress.

Even after reading a lot about the “trick” behind it, as I’m working on a pure Linux machine, I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to get to the juice.
But as a hint: you can do almost everything on the box itself. No need to spin up a Win-VM. It’s all about knowing and understanding the commands you can use there. And here I learned a lot as well, so thank you again.

Ah, and if you are thinking about how to disassamble windows executables, you may have a look at GitHub - icsharpcode/AvaloniaILSpy: Avalonia-based .NET Decompiler (port of ILSpy)
Worked very well for me.

If you need an little nudge anyway, you are welcome to send me PM with what you have tried so far

As said here what a fun and challenging box!

User - Enumeration is key. Look at what you can do on the open ports. Here may lie some interesting files.

Root - Again enumeration is key, maybe use some of the same methods as user (with some slight changes perhaps).

Thanks @VbScrub for the box. Also thank you to @salt for the invaluable hints.