Nest

Type your comment> @aiak0s said:

Type your comment> @kan3k1 said:

(Quote)
And from windows the same message…

Thinking like a pentester I ask myself whether I care if the program actually works or not. Why am I even bothering with that file and how do I get what I need?

Newbie here. Can someone give me a hint on how to get started with this one?

nmap -p- 10.10.10.178

Spoiler Removed

Spoiler Removed

Type your comment> @TestUserx said:

so far i managed to get the .exe file and the empty txt file, i’ve de-compiled the exe and it looks similar to the project found previously (only different language), but i can’t figure out what’s the next step from here.

Try to find something good inside that exe. Also try to get something out of that empty file.

. @alez said:

Just did this box. It is easy and learns some tricks. In my case I’ve seen them before in other places. Took more time installing stuff on windows than resolving

See this is the kind of response I was expecting and why I marked the box as Easy. If anything I was worried it would be too easy. But it seems the majority of people here are complaining its too difficult for an easy box, so in future I’ll have to just mark machines like this as medium and people like @alez are going to wonder why it was so easy for a medium machine lol

@JTNYDV said:

NOTES:

• There will be no shell, till you get to root, so don’t even try.
  • The machine has all the information, no need for the guess work. Keep digging.

These two points above bear repeating.

I feel like maybe other machines on here have conditioned people into thinking they need to get a shell straight away with any new creds they get. You don’t actually need a shell at all on this machine to get user or root.