best machines to start for a beginner

Hi, I’m new to this site. After I successfully joined I’m kind of stuck on which machine to hack next. Which machines do you recommend? I’m trying to catch up to the more advanced hackers who started earlier. I’m 22 and I want to catch up to those who have been doing this since an earlier age. I’m glad to be a member of this site. It’s a really cool site and forum.

So which machines should I start off with now that I completed the first one? I want to become a good hacker.

Oh, in case I’m breaking any rules in this post, I have autism. I don’t do a good job of following social rules at first so please remind me if I’m doing anything wrong because I forget the first time I hear something.

I’m a college student but I am taking a much longer time to do college than other people.

I have quite a bit of free time on my hands. My goal is to become an excellent hacker.

Thanks.

Best,

ghostheadx2

Use the difficulty bar to get an idea of how difficult they are (except Calamity lol). Blue/Shocker/Mirai are fairly straight-forward

Thanks. Also, how do I catch up to those who started younger?

Check out this YouTube channel

Great walkthroughs for retired machines. You will learn a lot about the tools and workflows that work on HTB machines.

@0b5cur17y said:
Check out this YouTube channel

Great walkthroughs for retired machines. You will learn a lot about the tools and workflows that work on HTB machines.

Retired machines? So I’m not cheating by looking at this? Ok, then that’s a good thing. I don’t want the answers given to me but I guess if the machine is retired then it will still probably help. Thanks.

The rules don’t say anything about this but I guess ippsec would be outlawed by now if it were forbidden :wink: