Postman

rooted

PM me for help.

Pretty easy box. When i was waiting for user, i eventually got root lol.

User (or initial shell): do you see something new in your scan? A pretty nice time to google about it, isn’t it? Hint: as mentioned above, don’t change the dir

Root: simpler than 2, 3, 5, 7 and 11. I even didn’t use LinEnum. Connection closed? Maybe you are not welcome to come through this door? But every house has windows…

PM if you completely lost :wink:

can someone please tell me where i can read up on using ssh2john.py
never mind found it!

Hi all! I am stuck in ris. i noticed that here is no MO*E command, so exploits didnt work, drop some key file in some directory isnt work for me (idk, is it working at all). i think i can do something with LUA scripting here, but no luck. Help, i need somebody, help… :smiley:

This is my first attempt to hack the box after 2 weeks of learning.
The box is rooted thanks to a great community, you are the best guys!

Rooted! Fun box. Learn a lot through user!! PM if you need some help!

I am root! :stuck_out_tongue: Certainly an enjoyable box. I found the initial foothold to be a very good learning experience. :slight_smile:

My hints.

User:

1º The obvious exploit is not going to work.

2º Read articles about the vulnerability, and you will find an alternative approach. There are tons of articles about it.

3º Once you do your research, remember that not all home directories fall under home.

4º Play with a client tool to get additional information.

5º Prepare your attack, and get in.

Root:

1º Go back to your initial enumeration.

2º Don’t overthink. Root is easy.

@TheCyberGeek , thank you for the box.

Rooted! thanks people from HTB for all the hints!
fun box for beginners… like me ?

Just got root!

Thanks to @TheCyberGeek for the box.

PM if you’re stuck.

i found the i*_**.**k and i try to john with rockyou and no luck, did i miss somthing ?