Find The Secret Flag

This challenge made me want to end it all… And nobody in this thread mentions the issue that confused me the most.

If you get the string with the names of the creators but with a bunch of “unwanted” characters, then do some research about the bell character.

Alternatively, you do not need to know anything about what I mentioned above if you just patch the binary in the right places which, in my opinion, is a bit painful to work out.

new to HTB (and infosec in general), took me a full day!
boy that was challenging, but i learned alot from it.
i made it with 2 binary patches, as well as python script (that did more than just the filecheck).

tips:

1. strings- take a close look at them. to which function each string belongs to?
  2. the program has few requirements to run properly. find those in the code
  3. identify the important zone that needs to run, as well as its required registers values.

Hello everyone, I’m a beginner. can someone help me ? .
I already found the hidden function , but I didn’t understand the input meaning of the main function,
if the file creation is necessary in the future of the program for the state of the variables ,
and the xor printed how to reverse it

@ydrah i think you finished this challenge already i’m stuck on the hidden function to get the flag can you PM me or if someone can, please?

FInally

Solved this just by looking at the disassembled code, no debugger necessary (though it’d help I guess). Found the function and quickly brute forced the key with cyberchef. I feel this one was easier than “Debug Me”.

I was wondering why I can’t debug this, and now I think it might be stripped.
Even with that knowledge, still not getting very far!