Tools to start with

Hey!
Complete noob here. I was fascinated by ippsec’s YT videos, so I decided to give it a try.
But I have no knowledge on how to do even the simplest stuff. Just to give you an example, in machine “Safe” I was able just to find open ports with nmap, but I don’t know what to do next

So I’m asking you:
-is there something you do every time, no matter the machine you are working on, just to search for something (like ippsec who do nmap)
-can you please suggest some tools so I can learn how to use them?

Thank you

It depends on what ports are open. If its web ports (80,443), then I like run dirbuster and zap in the background while I manually play with the site and look for vulns.

thank you @WiseGuy ! I didn’t know zap.
And as a ‘attack list’, what do you usually do after? I mean, what should I look for? I know it depends case by case, but what do you usually do in order to find vulnerabilities?

Type your comment> @ohfuck said:

thank you @WiseGuy ! I didn’t know zap.
And as a ‘attack list’, what do you usually do after? I mean, what should I look for? I know it depends case by case, but what do you usually do in order to find vulnerabilities?

Unfortunately, what he said is accurate. I like to start with nmap to get an idea of what ports are open. Then move to other programs as appropriate. Sparta is another program that runs some of these basic scans for you.

Gobuster, dirbuster and sometimes dirb to enumerate the directories on port 80(or any HTTP port)
Burpsuite, to see what happens with the request and play with it and see if there’s anything that could get me somthing
Nikto, sometimes works on some of the boxes, shows some stuff that could be useful but that depends on the machine
Nmap/Masscan/Zenmap - Basically to scan available ports of the machine or to automate half of the enumeration automatically
exploit-db, searchsploit, to find any available exploits for a certain service (say SSHd for example)