Need suggestions/opinions regarding my career in IT.

I’m a cybersecurity enthusiast and a total newbie in the field. Currently working as a PHP Developer and my gut is telling me to pursue a career path in cybersecurity instead, do you think it would be worth the risk thinking that I have to start from scratch? Or should I stay as a developer? I’m also thinking of taking courses like the C|ND to somehow catch up with the knowledge that I lack? I’m lost and I have no idea where to start or whether to start at all. Please feed me insights and I’ll greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

Hey dude,

I got into the industry through interest in computing, finally did a degree and then got into the industry and I have had tons of fun in this industry and worked from a smaller infosec organisation and jumped to a much larger comapny. There are a lot of people I have talked to that would have loved to have a developer transition to infosec than try to train someone that doesn’t have any or little coding ability. It depends on the kind of salary you are on right now I think. There are a lots of companies that value experience over certs, for example my current place sat me down infront of one of their training boxes and told me to work through a box as the interview! There is so much in this industry that you should never get stagnant or bored and having a coding background would only work in your favour in my opinion.

I’m in the same boat, though for the past six months I’ve been in a full stack role working closely with our internal infosec team to remediate a decade’s worth of vulnerabilities and refactoring really poorly written PHP.

Given your background in development it will aid your transition into infosec, though it might not be a clean cut-over. Given the vacuum of talent in the industry, it’s kind of a seller’s market right now. As Th3R3dP1ll said, depending on your current salary scale, it might even be a positive financial move.