How much python should I learn?

Sorry for the basic question but could someone please explain how much python I should know to be an adequate pen tester?

Ive googled the question and its always the same answer. Enough that you can edit an exploit to work for you but I need an example for this if anyone could give me a decent example?

I have done the majority of codecademy python course and it obviously doesnt cater towards pentesting so could someone please either post an exploit on here or a link and explain what about it I would need to change?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.

im not an expert nor a professional, so you should learn the basics of any languages, it means conditions, loops, arrays, then functions. after that you can go deeper with the concept of objects and class, methods.
from there, you can learn sockets, requests.
But more important, practice as much as you can, if you have an easy box, instead of using hydra to bruteforce, try to write your own tool.

Okay thanks for the input. So Im pretty good with everything except for classes and sockets right now. Havent got up to that yet.

Would you suggest starting on black hat python and violent python to learn those things?

I only suggest you to practice, just design a server with a login form, and write a bruteforce.

I agree with @peek!

I’d recommend to automate as much as possible when working on a box, even when you could also solve it manually by pasting things into burp or a browser. At the beginning developing a script might take longer than a bunch of manual actions, but it will finally pay off if you did it often enough.

@clarkey3110 - as you asked for a decent example: I think developing a script for Flujab (retired yesterday) is a very good one!

Watch / read for example how @0xdf and @ippsec develop their exploit scripts step by step: