A Script Kiddie’s guide to Passing OSCP on your first attempt.

Your probably thinking, “man not another I did OSCP” blog or rant. Yes, there are a lot out there and everyone wants to share their experience. But you are probably looking at doing your OSCP exam in the near future and probably a beginner at Offensive Security. HTB has your labelled as a Script Kiddie.

So am I. At the time of writing I am 21.5% my way to “Hacker” status here at HTB.

I am writing this because I want to assist anyone pass the exam and earn it – first go. But if you don’t pass it first go, don’t get discouraged. Take it as a learning experience, figure out why you failed, improve your process and try again.

A Bit of background
A husband with a young family, two kids under the age of three and working full time. If you can relate, you know you don’t get much time to yourself. But, rethink it and you do. I studied when the kids go to bed and travelling to and from work. Total time per day would be 1 to 2 hours. Weekends, forget it unless the kids are out with my wife. At the end of the day, the more time you commit to practicing like any skill the better you will get. Don’t make excuses that you don’t have time, because you do.
My IT skill level: I’ve been in Sys Admin, Network Engineer and Infrastructure Engineer for more than 10 years. I am not going to tell you the certs I have acquired throughout the years because when it comes to OSCP, it doesn’t matter. The main thing is being passionate about Offensive Security with the willingness to learn and putting the time in. OSCP is a different beast to all other certifications.

OSCP was my introduction to Offensive Security or Ethical Hands on Hacking.

OSCP Material and Lab
I purchased the 90-day lab with the material. One thing I didn’t like about this is you will spend the first month going through the material which gives you a realistic 60-day lab time. But hey, that’s life. A Summary
• I read the PWK material twice