Irked

Got user & root. That was a fun box! As always, P.M. for hints

Will someone PM with some help? I’m still new to all of this, and I’m stuck looking for entry using RPC that the nmap scan showed.

Just rooted!

Thanks everybody for tips.

For whose who stuck:

1. user: enumerate all ports, then use well known exploit in Metasploit (need some change in config, see ‘options’). Then enumerate user’s folders and try to find something hidden, you will get the another hint. Use it with default page of web-site.

2. root: I started to use many enumeration scripts and found out some ‘bin’ file, that have a strange behaviour, use it to exploit the system.

p.s. read the forum, there are a lot of good hints to catch.

Good Luck!

Someone able to give me some pointers here. I finally got the user flag but my metasploit session only lasts about 20 seconds before ‘hanging’ and then needing to run the exploit again. am I missing something here?

I finally rooted my first machine.It was giving me a tough time to get root.
Some tips:

• For user you just need to knock all the doors and then the welcome page will give you the user.txt
  • For root it is so simple. Basic enumeration will give you what you want. Be sure to check your enumeration result carefully.

Someone can help me?
What can I do with the UP***************ss

rooted
priv esc not hard just basic enum

Type your comment> @helderjsd said:

Someone can help me?
What can I do with the UP***************ss

google the line above that string it points you to a popular tool.
that string your questioning about will help you with something that was in your face the whole time.

Type your comment> @Shad0wSec said:

Can someone please PM? i can’t seem to figure out what to do with the extracted contents of the stego’d file. Doesn’t seem to work as a user pass.

interesting tried this again with the user in question and it worked this time…didn’t work the 8 other times i tried it in the past though…