Learning Process, Trying Harder

I have been working on pentesting for a little over a year now but have been going really hard for the past 5-6 weeks. I have ~5 years working in IT (lots of linux, web hosting, etc).

I feel like a tool reading walkthroughs on retired machines but I feel like it’s the only way I am going to really get the feel/flow of working on machines as well as recognizing potential vulns, etc.

Without formal education is that really the best way to learn? I make myself try to the point of serious frustration, but I don’t see the need for being pissed/lost for 2 days when I can glance at a walk, learn something, and move on.

What’s your method?

Hello
to answer your question and I am no expert by any mean
reading walkthroughs is a good way to learn if you redo the steps your self and understand the process beside don’t take it too hard CTF like machines are hard not liek a real pentest.
about proper education you can always go do some certs which is needed in the industry anyway but don’t feel down because you could not solve a challenge just keep going and learn and never expect results in one day learning is process my friend enjoy the journey till you get it’s fruits and beside compare your knowledge now to 1 year ago not same right?
now here some advice
1- if you read a walkthrough do the machine again understand the pieces and makes your own notes on the things you learned

2- when you are doing a machine that has no walkthrough you will get frustrated maybe stand up leave it for that day try tomorrow or later

3- Discuss things with people and I don’t mean spoil or get spoilers but discussing stuff makes it more fun enjoyable and can open your eyes to things you did not pay attention to or expect

4-I will sound like wise-■■■ but here it is practice practice practice because that is only way that you will imprint knowledge to your brain