Keep Tryin

Would be glad, if some one could help with this.

I read the SANS paper, tried to find the precedence of the script that generates the requests but still I’m missing how to decode it if anyone can PM me or give a hint…

Very interesting challenge, love it ! Thankyou @cmaddy

I’m blocked on this one, I’ve been trying several tools but I didn’t find anyone that makes sense for the fqdn in the pcap, can anybody give me a pointer?

I found a walkthrough that provided the flag. I don’t know if you can call it a walkthrough, because the script it had didn’t work for me personally, but I’d like to be able to understand why what I tried didn’t work, and what I was missing. I would appreciate a PM to help me understand why my script wouldn’t run; I’m not that good with python scripts.

I am stuck… I can’t find out how to decode the packet…

Well, that was tougher than I expected.

As some have said, finding the tool which generated (or receives) these packets is the key to this. If you don’t locate the right tool, you’ll never crack this without a truckload of jammy luck.

After hours of beating my head against a wall, I eventually realised that the combination of “init.” and txt records helped me find what I was looking for.

finally! had to give it a honest harder try and tweaking a lot of my script. that was quite a challenge

If you don’t feel like scripting, it is also possible to completely avoid it. It is possible to get the result by playing with the capture file, if you tweak it a little bit.

I found the tool that I think this was sent with, but it requires a password to be set? Do we need to attack this password, or is it included in the other packets, or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Any tips on how to decode the 2nd query?

General tip:
How could I write a base64 in a domain? Mmh, maybe I could modify something.

Here some big tips (read only if you are in difficult):
Study how infections via DNS works.