On the quality of recent boxes...

@3mrgnc3 said:
Hey peeps,

Just my 2 cents worth also.

If I make a box my intentions are typically these.

1. Try to include useful learning points that replicate a realistic exploit process.
  2. Create something custom that I’ve never done before (so you and I can both learn from it).
  3. Try to build it around a narrative that has a flow.
  4. Include mundane chaff on the box (because real-world stuff has that)
  5. If people try to speed hack and treat it as a ctf I will troll you on that. (so if you think my box is ctf-like, that is why. )

Nothing on my boxes is designed to be “guessed”. If you feel you are doing that, I suggest you have some gaps in your knowledge or skills, and need to learn how to enumerate the application/system you are dealing with.

I write a comprehensive walkthrough detailing the logic of every step for the HTB team to review when I submit a box. I write it as a imaginary attacker using logic to go from one step to another. If I find a step that has a leap or gap, I modify the box to include a necessary clue so the attacker won’t need to guess anything if they have completed their enum process fully.

I like the idea of a category matrix that will allow everyone to indicate and adjust how the community would categorize a box.

Something like this maybe?

Box rating matrix

This way we can see honest feedback and can improve the quality of boxes over time.

As a box maker, personally I can take the haters of any box I make for free.
I’ve been around the block enough to know that no matter how good your intentions or sentiments are, haters gonna hate on you on the interwebs.
Frankly, I always expect some people to dislike the boxes I make.
That is fine. You are entitled to your opinion. I still respect you.

I still love you all. Really, I do.
Yes. I like to troll, trash talk and shitpost from time to time. But I’m no hypocrite and can take it back too.

My advise to other makers is