[WEB] Cartographer

At first I had no idea how to go about this challenge but the hints here definitely helped. That login bypass was weirdly easy I couldn’t believe it worked.

ikuamike

@fleitner said:

…, I’m sure there is a way to actually use the session obtained from the login to brute force / wordlist that word. Could someone pm me how this would be done if the word would not be so obvious?

I would also like to know what sort of directory enumeration can be performed in the situation. Would you need a custom script? or there is there a tool that already has this functionality?

Just try something …

OR ‘try something else’

I have to say. I tried brute-forcing my way through, running dirb, and now I feel so dumb after reading through what everyone said… Even as a newbie I should have gotten that. It’s the easiest trick in the book.

Got it, couldn’t believe how easy it was to get in. After id read through the comments and done some of my own research it finally clicked in my head. As stated in some of these comments its the most common way of login bypass and it is extremely simple. I bashed my head and then punched the air after i got in.

@sumOne said:

@fleitner said:

…, I’m sure there is a way to actually use the session obtained from the login to brute force / wordlist that word. Could someone pm me how this would be done if the word would not be so obvious?

I would also like to know what sort of directory enumeration can be performed in the situation. Would you need a custom script? or there is there a tool that already has this functionality?

I found that the dictionary in Burp Sniper ->Simple list → short words could work in this instance. You could also use CeWL to generate a wordlist from HTB and it would grab the word from this website.

Finally completed this challenge if need any help feel free to ask.

hahahaha this made me laugh :smiley:

smashes head against desk
That was super simple and I totally overthought it.