Irked

@AgustinCB said:

@galoryber said:
Anybody have some time to help? I’m looking to get root. I think I’ve found something that’s not usually on Linux machines (not an easy task for me yet), but I’m worried I’m creating my own rabbit hole :).

If you found it, it should work right away.

It depends if someone else has done the dirty work for you yet or not :slight_smile:

@d3ku said:

@AgustinCB said:

@galoryber said:
Anybody have some time to help? I’m looking to get root. I think I’ve found something that’s not usually on Linux machines (not an easy task for me yet), but I’m worried I’m creating my own rabbit hole :).

If you found it, it should work right away.

It depends if someone else has done the dirty work for you yet or not :slight_smile:

Oh, interesting. Then maybe the previous user forgot to reset the machine before I got in… Sending a PM.

crack out the perm manual

Hello, I’m new to HTB. Been reading the forums, writeups, watching IppSec, trying challenges and several boxes.

Obtained user successfully, but am struggling with root. Things I’ve tried so far:

• re-read this thread for clues
  • carefully went line by line through list of binaries (running and not) as suggested
  • tried enum scripts and read through the output multiple times
  • Googled for common enum techniques, read through several blogs, tried the suggestions
  • tried comparing box and files to typical Linux box and files
  • tried looking for the “b” and “v” files explicitly mentioned in this thread

Kind of feels like if you know it, you’ll get it, and if you don’t, you won’t.
Similar to how if you’re color blind, no matter how hard you try, you won’t be able to see the hidden numbers amongst the dots.

Not sure what to try next. Any clues as to what I’m missing here?

@OldManWinter I guess we should try harder. Same situation

ok, so far so good. Got a shell, found the b*** file. But I’m too dumb to figure out how to replace what with what. Any hints?