Irked

Usered & Rooted. Thanks for the pointers in this thread, folks. Happy to provide small tips to others via PM.

PM me > @vitorfhc said:

Can I have a hint on root? I am pretty new to this. Also I don’t want spoilers, just hints, I tried a lot of priv esc techniques from Basic Linux Privilege Escalation - g0tmi1k but maybe I let something pass…

PM me if you are stuck on root, maybe i can help…

@valentinelocke said:
I took a few months off from HTB, and either I got really rusty, or I’m missing something obvious. I have the initial shell, and I can see user.txt, but can’t read it… whatever I’m missing has to be painfully obvious but I have spent about 2 hours and can’t seem to figure it out.

Try go back to basics. Think to yourself, what can the string inside this ‘pass.txt’ file do? Can it be used to do something that may lead you to reading or accessing user.txt?

Goodluck.

I have low access shell, but I can’t move forward. I found user.txt and .b**** files, but I can’t use it properly. Please hint me, those files is necessary to go forward?

@hray said:

@valentinelocke said:
I took a few months off from HTB, and either I got really rusty, or I’m missing something obvious. I have the initial shell, and I can see user.txt, but can’t read it… whatever I’m missing has to be painfully obvious but I have spent about 2 hours and can’t seem to figure it out.

Perhaps the size of the text file and the size of that directory aren’t the same? :wink:

Guys… that is almost a spoiler :+1: :smiley:

Seems to me like something changed since yesterday. Port enumeration gives me completely different results…

EDIT: someone just messed with the services, nvm

Well that was fun lmfaooo

Howdy Folks! This is my first attempted box. I got my low priv shell and would appreciate a hint or two for root and user if anyone is feeling generous!

Thanks!

some hint to steg part ? i cant find the file ,send me a pm plz

can anyone help me with this machine please PM me