Irked

for root, standard linux enumeration can find you an interesting binary file

Rooted. If you stuck pm me.
I think priv part is easy but user part I lost a lot of time.

Having some issues after reading through this discussion but I’m getting closer. I finally got a low level shell. I can see where the user.txt file is but none of my commands work to view it. I need to escalate privileges but I’m at a loss. Any hints or reading anyone can suggest? I’m afraid I might be trying to tackle this the wrong way.
I got Jerry pretty quickly but this one is killing me. I’m new to this as well.

Rooted now, thanks for the help.

Alright I got user. Any tips on where to start with root?

I finished the root flag, thanks to everyone who helped me with the tips!

I’m having a bit of trouble with the privilege escalation part. It feels like I’m on the right track and found something but I feel like I’m missing something. Could someone pm to know I’m on the right track? Any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

For those who still struggle with this machine, the tip that helped me was to check for unusual binary file.

I couldnt find way to get user so i went straight to root. i didnt find this machine as easy as some say because i am not so used to this kind of files for priv esc

I have a problem with the root.
Could anybody help me ? i search a suggest on what to watch…

Hi

on irked box i have done user part
on priv esca part i found the v*****r file
and it is looking for /tmp/u*******s file but i dont know what to put inside that file
please pm me any hint or ref to some blog post!

thanks

Couldn’t figure out the user puzzle. Apparently the answer is right in front of me but I don’t do a lot of CTF so I just owned root instead. Would like someone to PM me the answer to user now that I’m done. Root definitely requires you to enumerate and scrutinize innocuous-looking binaries.