Irked

@TheMightyQuinn said:
Hey, so I just joined HTB a couple of days ago, and based off community ratings, this seems like it’s supposed to be an easy box. Maybe it’s just that I personally have basically zero experience with CTF-type challenges, but I just can’t seem to get anywhere. I’m seeing a lot of hints about what to do once you have a reverse shell, but I can’t even get that far. I admit it is quite possible that HackTheBox is just currently above my skill level, but if that’s the case, where might I go to get more beginner experience?

I’m on the same situation.
I scanned ports and found out i** and u*** (both udp) open but I have no clue of what to do, spent all day googling around exploits and nothing… Can someone send me a hint? I’ve tried spawn a reverse shell with netcat on those ports but 0 progress

@vitorfhc said:
Can I have a hint on root? I am pretty new to this. Also I don’t want spoilers, just hints, I tried a lot of priv esc techniques from Basic Linux Privilege Escalation - g0tmi1k but maybe I let something pass…

whilst enumerating you will find something that doesnt belong - you wont find this on a clean / standard linux install

nc should work for the CVE, keep trying different times and more importantly different payloads.

also my hint for root, when you find it you wont expect it, or atleast i didnt, lucky guess for me after reading what was going on with the system.

Is it easier than what I’m thinking? PrivEsc… perm-ing my hair out

Yeah, enumerated with LinEnum, read the output some times and tried some things that caught my attention. Nothing worked. I am overthinking or something like that.

i need help for priv esc. somebody can help? pm pls

Rooted … Thanks to @ZaphodBB & @Sigilli . As they said it … all the hints given are enough !! but if you need any help PM me \n/ :slight_smile: