I failed my first OSCP attempt, and I'm looking for some advice.

As said in the title, I failed my first OSCP exam attempt. However, I did better than I thought I would. I got about 55/100. I mostly failed in Privesc. I got user access on 4 machines out of 5, but I didn’t get root on any machine. My OSCP lab time was during the summer, which meant that (at the time) I spent most of my time in the OSCP labs. I’m currently in my first year of college, which means I can’t put as much time into hacking as I used to.

I also tried to pwn a few machines on HTB’s free VPN, but it really seems that the machines are not stable. Is it just me being incompetent, or are the machines in the free VPN not stable?

I only have about $600 of savings that I can invest in my learning journey. I’m definitely trying to save up more, but that’s what I have for now. I don’t want to put myself in a pickle by using putting the money in the wrong place and not knowing what to do next.

With that situation in mind, what do you think I should do? Should I purchase an HTB VIP monthly subscription? Or is the difference between the VIP access and the free access minimal? Or should I wait until the summer to get an OSCP lab extension and just do some Vulnhub machines until then?

Thank you in advance.

I purchased VIP and I think it’s an excellent value for me. With all the instability and resets the free lab was really eating up time with no return. So I bought VIP and never looked back.

Most of the boxes I’ve done have had some contact with the PWK material. IMO you should keep practicing and not take a very very long break or you will lose some skills. I used HTB during a several month break from the OSCP lab, and it kept me fresh enough so that I passed when I finally got to the exam.

machines on Free can be a nightmare…
an example is that it took me to 2 hours to transfer a file between 3 systems via ssh.
but, it is totally doable in the end to get the job done.