Curling

@Skunkfoot said:

Every machine is easy if you already know the method

This ^^^^^^^

I think there has to be a range of boxes here - some which are so easy that genuine CTF experts find them trivial to do and some which are challenging even for the elite.

WIthout the easy ones, new people can’t learn. While I dont mean to say HTB has to be a learning ground for complete newbies, the reality is a “CTF” mindset isnt something people are born with.

@Frey said:

Don’t get me wrong but the solutions is not always a try_hard way, more like search2find way.

I think this is also very important. “Try Harder” is good enough for people with some knowledge and experience, but I find it is very discouraging for people new into the game.

@TazWake said:

@Skunkfoot said:

This ^^^^^^^

I think there has to be a range of boxes here - some which are so easy that genuine CTF experts find them trivial to do and some which are challenging even for the elite.

WIthout the easy ones, new people can’t learn. While I dont mean to say HTB has to be a learning ground for complete newbies, the reality is a “CTF” mindset isnt something people are born with.

@Frey said:

Don’t get me wrong but the solutions is not always a try_hard way, more like search2find way.

I think this is also very important. “Try Harder” is good enough for people with some knowledge and experience, but I find it is very discouraging for people new into the game.

To be fair to @Frey, this box really is pretty simple in the end. And I understand why “Try Harder” can be discouraging, but people get into a habit of asking for help for one thing, and then following it up immediately when they get stuck on the next step. I get SO many PMs like this. I don’t mind helping people, but I’m not here to walk you through this step by step either, ya know?