SecNotes

Anyone willing to give small, non-spoiler hints for privilege escalation? I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to Windows and a little lost. Currently going through the filesystem looking for anything that might be useful. Not really noticing much. I DID notice the “odd” folder in the root directory, however.

hey any hints on this box struck after login …beginner my first box attempt

For privesc, I discovered something weird by accidentally listing everything…
n00bp0tat0

Rooted! Fun little box…

I’ve been struggling with privesc here… I was intrigued by u*****.exe and did some reading on WSL but can’t figure out how to make use of it as a non-privileged user. Am I in the right area or are my efforts better concentrated elsewhere?

ok… so logged in on the web page… pulled some notes…
connected to a different service where I can read and write files…
but then what :frowning: probably something basic…
if anyone can send me a small nudge… would be much appreciated.

@rewks said:
I’ve been struggling with privesc here… I was intrigued by u*****.exe and did some reading on WSL but can’t figure out how to make use of it as a non-privileged user. Am I in the right area or are my efforts better concentrated elsewhere?

Keep digging, there is a way to make it work. Maybe google what your trying to run, and it what OS. I found it fairly quickly

Edit: Fixed the problem and rooted it. It was an issue of using the wrong tool to spawn my connect-back shell. Windows 10 is flakey.

This file might just hint you , Look for other interessing files related to it :wink: