Mirai Root

So just as a preface, im rather new to this. I was able to get the user hash after about an hour or so and was quite thrilled with myself. However root is proving to be a bit more complicated. I think i have an idea but haven’t gotten far with it. I think i may have something to do with the hidden HPFS filesystem. Am i barking up the wrong tree here?

I just got this, but I’m not sure if it was the ‘right’ way to go about it. Follow the breadcrumbs they left for you, the data is still there.

Do these breadcrumbs go beyond the usb? And in my opinion, the “right” way is the way that gets you what you want :stuck_out_tongue:

Just remember that EVERYTHING in Linux is a file. Think about what basic commands can be run on files.

@likwidsec said:
Just remember that EVERYTHING in Linux is a file. Think about what basic commands can be run on files.

this

I may need to sleep on what you guys are saying. Theres probably something simple im overlooking. i feel like im SO close tho. its driving me up the wall. I can see what i think is the file i need in testdisk, but i cant seem to undelete it.

i guess they had to go and make the root difficult since techincally getting root was just as easy as user. Might have to start calling myself hansel after this.

What if you didn’t need to ACTUALLY undelete it though? Knowing that EVERYTHING in Linux is a file (including Hard Drives) … how could you retrieve the plaintext strings that are/were in a file?

(mods feel free to edit my post if that’s too “spoilerish” please)

I think i get what youre saying, atleast in principle. I think right now my lack of knowledge in linux and the tools/cmds available is whats holding me back. Im not a complete noob but definitely not a sysadmin level.
I would like to say thanks tho, i know its difficult to guide people when you dont know what they know and you cant flat out give it away. ( not that id want you to either, theres no satisfaction in it!)

@Axkicker said: