Final year project ideas

Hello,
I’m doing a final year project related to cyber security & forensics. My initial ideas were to create a intrusion detection system or a honeypot but I think they are a little bit out of my league as I am a noob and doing the project alone. A project that has something to do with cryptography and blockchain would be interesting but nothing came to mind.
Do you guys have ideas for a project or maybe you guys did a project for your bachelor’s degree that might be of interesting?
Appreciate any kind of help.

I dont know anything about blockchain (other than its the source of 95% of scams) and crypto is (IMHO) hard.

I wouldn’t give up on the honeypot idea - have a look at this one in Docker GitHub - ciscocsirt/dhp: Simple Docker Honeypot server emulating small snippets of the Docker HTTP API

From a professional point of view, forensics would be a good way to go. Volatility 3 has made some significant changes in how memory is analysed but there is still a gap in how the tooling meshes together.

Additionally there is always more research needed in how Windows Application Compatability Cache stores data (amcache.hve structures), in how we can tie together evidence of execution (prefetch, shimcache etc) between volatile storage and disk storage.

Away from windows, simplifying mounting LVM2/APFS images on a windows host would be genuine magic.

@TazWake
Why I’m thinking about Honeypots is it’s an interesting project and even whit my limited/weak programming and overall IT skills I would enjoy doing the project even if I wouldn’t create a good product, I would still learn something (tho afraid not to finish it on time but I have aprox 7-8 months). Going to do more research in the mean time.

Having a hard time understanding Volatility 3 other than it’s a memory forensics tool
so thinking how I might approach it.

Other ideas are a bit out of my league xd