Pentesting

Hi All,

I currently work as a standard IT tech but i really want to change path to become a PenTester. This issue i am having is there seems to be no entry level positions anywhere! I thought if anyone knows where to look it would be the members of HTB. If anyone has any tips / links it would be really appreciated.

Thanks all!

I’m in the same case and interested too.

I think certifications from offensive security like OSCP, OSWE… help a lot, but feedbacks are always welcome :slight_smile:

I am not a pentester so I can’t really help much but I do work in security so take what my views in that context.

First off, security in general sucks when it comes to finding entry level roles. Every organisation says they want to bring new people in but then demand 10 years experience for the most basic roles. (I’ve even seen roles this year advertising for Kubernetes security people with a minimum of 10 years Kubernetes experience, never mind it has only existed for about six).

Dont let this get you down. The main thing I can suggest is to apply. You might get rejected but you might not. If you don’t apply, you definitely got rejected. Ideally, applying will give you feedback on what areas you need to improve on which might help. (Most orgs/recruiters are too lazy to actually do this though).

Have a look at Login :: Hack The Box :: Penetration Testing Labs - this is a good place to start and there are actually some entry level roles if you are OK working in Germany.

Next step - do your recon. This is critical if you want to be a good pentester so get some practice in now. Search all the job boards, find out what most ask for and see how you can best fit it. If you find 90% of jobs you want ask for OSCP, then you need to get OSCP. If they don’t ask for it, don’t get it (yet).

The security hurdle genuinely exists - you often have to work in security to work in security. Until this madness gets resolved you need to work with the system as it is today.