Starting Point - Unable To Ping 10.10.10.27 - #Error 487

Hi,

I’m brand new to this world, so didn’t expect to be to contribute on day one, but having just figured out this issue myself I feel it’s only right to share with the others who also seem to be struggling.

This post probably be longer than many will deem necessary, but I want to capture as many phrasings of the issue and be as clear as possible with the solution so those searching for it can find the solution easily and execute without confusion. I couldn’t find this answer on here (if I missed the post feel free to link it here and I’ll happily bow my head in shame).

Scenario:- Starting Point (Kali Linux 2020)
After downloading and connecting to the openvpn file the user is unable to connect to any HTB network.

‘ifconfig’ or ‘ip a’ - shows the "tun0"connection as running.

‘ping 10.10.10.27’ - provides 100% packet loss with a “Host unreachable” message return.

‘ports=$(nmap -p- --min-rate=1000 -T4 10.10.10.27 | grep [1] | cut -d ‘/’ -f 1 | tr ‘\n’ ‘,’ | sed s/,$//)’ - runs without issue.
‘nmap -sC -sV -p$ports 10.10.10.27’ - returns the following error;

“Starting Nmap 7.80 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2020-05-12 10:52 IST
Error #487: Your port specifications are illegal. Example of proper form: “-100,200-1024,T:3000-4000,U:60000-”
QUITTING!”

Users CAN run other forms of nmap scan, but they won’t get any useful information. Provided they utilise the -Pn flag they will be met with a message stating either all ports are closed, or all ports are filtered (I had both variations strangely).

Solution:-
Turns out to be both obvious and yet not at all obvious, so get ready to facepalm the developers.

Kali 2020 has the latest version of nmap pre-loaded, but what it doesn’t say on the label is that the nmap database itself doesn’t update automatically, so your version number of nmap and this won’t line up, and as it turns out, this is pretty crucial.