Guidance for New User: I need your help for me to know how i can start

edited April 18 in Other

Hello?
Firstly let me apologize if whatever am going to ask is stupid or in a wrong thread,
I am a newbie who is willingly need a career in CyberSecurity,I have tried to search for career path guideline and got hooked into Penetration Testing and I need to know which courses i can start with and how i can list them from which one i can take first and the next so i can go step by step from fundamental to Advanced, All i tried were not helpful as many of them were expensive, am kindly asking you fellas for guidance on this journey am starting,
Would you recommend me some free platforms that i can go with like where i can get full course from scratch,though i never mentioned it before i have some skills from YouTube like installing linux os on VM & some basic configurations.

Thank you :blush:

Comments

• I cant help much as I am not a pentester.

However, I have worked with pentesters/red teamers a lot.

First off, there is no one true path to being a pentester. The range of skills and knowledge required is very broad so the tendency is for people to get a very basic grounding in most areas and focus on the ones of interest. (examples of "areas" - network, infrastructure, web applications, binary analysis, social engineering etc).

This means that the choice of "where to start" is pretty open. There is a huge amount of free material available online ranging from blog posts through to full-on tutorial-style material.

The problem is that the quality does vary wildly and with free courses, you often get what you've paid for. I am not saying you need to spend €7000 on a SANS course but at some point, you may want to make an investment. If nothing else, getting OSCP or similar is a very good first step to finding a job.