Starting Point: Reverse Shell

Hello,
I’m pretty new to pen-testing and stuff like that. So I started with the starting-point.
My problem is, that I don’t get a reverse shell. Instead, the sql-client just says “null”. When I try to do it once again, I get an operation time out.

Screenshots:
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

The shell.ps1 contains my htb-ip-address.
The python web-server was started inside the folder, where shell.ps1 is.
I tried to restart ufw and set the firewall-rule up again, got the message “skipping existing rule”.

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong and would appreciate any hint!
Thanks in advance

Shorty

Have you started http.server on port 443? Since it returns “null” it appears to me there might be nothing on that port. Also it’s likely that netcat wouldn’t allow you to open a listener on this port if it was already used by other service. If you followed the exact commands from the tutorial and opened a server on 80, try connecting to this port instead.

Thanks for the response!
Unfortunately, it didn’t work either. Now it just stucks after I hit the enter-button.
I tried the normal way again and encountered the same problem: It just stucks. (I can abort it though)

• the first “null” returned, when I aborted the python-server to make a good screenshot of what’s happening - so it actually stays like this.

Thanks in advance!

did you change what needed to be changed in shell.ps1?

I guess you’re talking about the ip-address? In that case: Yea, I changed it to mine but did not change anything else.

Thanks in advance!

I’m having the same problem. I’ll let you know if I figure out what’s wrong!

Did you enable ufw?

Yea I double checked ufw!

start typing the next command in your netcat window, does it do anything? this is were i got stuck for ages waiting on a response from the sql window…

thanks worked now

Thanks a lot, @WolveRyan !
After hitting the Enter-Button a few times, a “#” came in front of it.